Outline

Wednesday Outline

Week 1 – Wed, Aug 28 | Introductions

Week 2 – Wed, Sept 4 | Stories

  • Presentation: Stories
  • Premiere Pro Introduction Demo
  • Class Exercise: Farm Kid
  • Work on Project 1 – Personal Story
  • Quiz 2: Chapters 1 – 4 Due by 2PM

Week 3 – Wed, Sept 11 | Editing

  • Presentation: Editing Basics
  • Video: Types of Cuts and Transitions
  • Transitions in Premiere
  • Editing Audio in Premiere
  • Titles in Premiere
  • Saving, Exporting, Video Files, Codecs
  • Technique Cuts
  • Work on Project 1 – Personal Story
  • Student Screenings: Project 1 – Personal Story
  • Quiz 3: Chapters 9 and 13 Due by 2PM

Wed, Sept 11 – Student Screenings: Project 1 – Personal Story (Due Mid Class)

Week 4 – Wed, Sept 18 | Camera

Week 5 – Wed, Sept 25 | Camera and Lighting

  • Presentation: Light and Color
  • Work on Camera Basics Assignment
  • Student Screenings: Camera Basics Assignment
  • Quiz 5: Chapters 6 – 7 Due by 2PM

Wed, Sept 25 – Student Screenings: Camera Basics Assignment (Due Mid Class)

Week 6 – Wed, Oct 2 | Interviews

  • Presentation: Interviews
  • Interview Techniques
  • Framing and Best Practices
  • Documentary Project Overview
  • Documentary Pitch Assignment Overview
  • Quiz 6: Chapters 8 and 10 Due by 2PM

Week 7 – Wed, Oct 9 | Interviews

  • Interview Workshop
  • Interview Exercise: Groups of 3 Switch Roles (Interviewer, Subject, Camera Operator)
  • MOS Interviews Assignment Overview and Examples
  • Documentary Pitch Assignment Presented In Class
  • Student Pitch Session: Documentary Pitch Assignment
  • Quiz 7: Chapter 11 Due by 2PM

Wed, Oct 9 – Student Pitch Session: Documentary Pitch Assignment (Verbally Pitched in Class)

Week 8 – Wed, Oct 16 | Types of Shots / Mass Comm Week

  • Presentation: Types of Shots
  • Creating Lower Third Titles
  • Shoot MOS Interview Assignment
  • Edit MOS Interview Assignment
  • Overview of Documentary Proposal

Tues, Oct 22 – MOS Interview Assignment (Due 11:59PM)

Week 9 – Wed, Oct 23 | Natural Sound

  • Presentation: Recording Audio
  • Importance of Natural Sound
  • Capturing Natural Sound
  • Shooting a Sequence / Examining Jump Cuts (Examples)
  • Documenting a Place or Event Assignment Overview and Example
  • Student Screenings: MOS Interview Assignment
  • Documentary Proposal Due by 12:00PM
  • Student Presentations: Documentary Proposal Assignment
  • Quiz 8: Chapter 12 Due by 2PM

Wed, Oct 23 – Student Presentations: Documentary Proposal Assignment (Due by 12:00PM)

Week 10 – Wed, Oct 30 | Ethics and Law

  • Presentation: Ethics and Law
  • Work on Documenting a Place or Event Assignment
  • Assignment 5 Checkpoint (Review Footage in Class)
  • Quiz 9: Chapters 14 – 15 Due by 2PM

Week 11 – Wed, Nov 6 | Social Media

Wed, Nov 6 – Student Screenings: Documenting a Place or Event Assignment (Due by 12:00PM)

Week 12 – Wed, Nov 13 | Documentary

Week 13 – Wed, Nov 20 | Documentary

  • Work on Documentary
  • Social Media Teaser Assignment Due by 12:00PM
  • Student Screenings: Social Media Teaser Assignment

Wed, Nov 20 – Student Screenings: Social Media Teaser Assignment (Due by 12:00PM)

Week 14 – Wed, Nov 27 | Thanksgiving

  • Thanksgiving Break

Week 15 – Wed, Dec 4 | Documentary

  • Work on Documentary

Monday, Dec 9 – Documentary Due by 11:59PM

Week 16 – Wed, Dec 11 | Final Exam Time Slot @ 2:00PM – 4:30PM

  • Documentary Project Due on Dec 9 by 11:59PM
  • Student Screenings: Documentary Project